Sofia Ågren, #swedishchoralmusic Choral Conductor of the Month

Sofia Ågren chooses... Ljusfälten by Matthew Peterson

"How is it possible for an American composer to write music that sounds so Swedish?" asks conductor Sofia Ågren. Ljusfälten is a suite of six poems by the great Finnish-Swedish poet Edith Södergren. It is full of contrasting ideas: light – darkness, power – fragility, beauty – harshness. Composer Matthew Peterson came to Sweden on a Fulbright Award in 2008 and has stayed since.


Sofia Ågren studied choral and orchestral conducting and singing methology at the Royal College of Music in Stockholm. Artistic Director of Uppsala Vocal Ensemble. Conductor and choral teacher at Stockholms Musikgymnasium, upper secondary school with advanced choral singing. 

Matthew Peterson was born in North Dakota in 1984. His operas, orchestral and chamber music, solo works and choral music is performed throughout Sweden and the USA. His true crime opera Voir Dire has received great acclaim. Ljusfälten is his first setting of a text in Swedish.

Ljusfälten (2018)
by Matthew Peterson
Six poems by Edith Södergran
A cappella, SATB divisi + soprano solo
Durata 18 minutes
Intermediate/advanced level

1. Skogssjön (Woodland Lake)
2. Nocturne
3. En strimma hav (A Ribbon of Sea)
4. Stjärnenatten (Starry Night)
5. En fången fågel (A Captive Bird)
6. Ljusfälten (Fields of Light)